novice help with M3 and Vivitar 283 shooting indoors

Discussion in 'Leica M Camera Forum' started by aaronz28, Dec 17, 2014.

1. aaronz28

aaronz28 Leica Place Regular

Dec 17, 2014
    Hi,

i am a somewhat novice hobby photographer that recently bought a M3 - i wanted the best film camera i could get so i popped for a rig that had the M3, the summacron 50mm f/2, and 35mm f3.5
    and a 90mm f4

i also bought a vivitar 283 and have been shooting around the house with the flash at 45degree - shooting 400iso color film, and the F at 4 - and trying out shutter speeds anywhere from 1/150 to 1/500

anyone with experience that could help me dial this in before I waste a ton of cash on over and underexposed film - i'd greatly appreciate it

i tried doing some sample images with my digital set the same and get really good results but i suspect that there is quite a difference between the calibration and sensing of a Nikon D7000 even in full manual mode and what i'm doing on the M3 - -

help please :D

thanks

Aaron

2. Brian

Brian Super Moderator Subscribing Member

Apr 3, 2013
    Aaron- you MUST set the shutter speed to 1/50th of a second or slower, nothing faster with an electronic flash. There is a "Lightning Bolt" on the shutter speed dial- that is the fastest you can use it.

Free manual for the M3 here:

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/joechan/pdf/leica_m3_manual.pdf

See page 27.

AND- welcome to Leicaplace. We are here to help!

3. aaronz28

Dec 17, 2014
    thanks Brian - that lightning bolt is not on my M3 shutter speed -
    but i was shooting at 1/250 and faster so i'm guessing black images are coming my way LOL

i'll shoot some more at 1/50th for the rest of this role -

and i'll give that manual a good read -
    thanks

• Like Like x 1
  4. Brian

Apr 3, 2013