Working/writeup on a Jupiter-3, 1956

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by helinophoto, May 5, 2016.

1. helinophoto

helinophoto Leica Place Rookie

Apr 12, 2016
    Hi

Just keeping y'all updated on my recent Jupiter-3 purchase.
    I am not a pro, but I really like to relax(?) and tinker with these old lenses when I am not working in IT. ^^
    I play around with them to use them myself, not for sale or anything like that.

Brian's notes all over the internet has always been very helpful and answer just about everything you could possibly think to ask, well almost. ^^

Anyway, bought a Jupiter-3 from eBay, directly from Ukraine. The seller assured me that the lens could be taken apart, everyone should really ask, I have also bought a Jupiter-3 which was glued. (unfortunately, that ended up in the garbage can, still glued, after trying everything, even two pipe wrenches lol ).

Anyway, as for cleaning these buggers, some gunk is easier than others.

IMG_4220 - Copy.JPG

I used a long list of stuff to clean the grooves for the focus and lens mount to no avail.
    Silver-polish
    Steel-polish
    Copper-polish
    WD-40
    Vinegar + dishwasher + water solution (works great for your bathroom by the way)
    Ketchup(!....it does contain acid and can clean coins)
    5% Ammonia (good for removing grease, and also to create monobath-developer, remember hold your breath)
    White-spirit clone, supposed to be milder than the regular stuff.
    Lighter fuel
    Autosol Chrome Polish

I actually ended using something we call "Ventilation grinding paste", IE stuff you normally use to make yourself a ground-glass.
    Tape and toothbrush and paste, times 3, with intermediate Autosol rubbing finally got rid of the main part of the gunk. Still not perfect, but much much better. (Autosol will clean the shiny parts but not the grooves, that stuff needs something that actually grinds it away).

So, after outer cleaning and lubrication, time to test.